0160/98 75 87 85 info@eco2050.de

FSC certification (in German and English)

The abbreviation FSC stands for “Forest Stewardship Council”, an international organisation that has designed a seal for wood and wood products from sustainable forest management. FSC was founded shortly after the UN Conference on Environment and Development in Rio de Janeiro (1992). In the meantime, more than 33,000 FSC certificates have been awarded worldwide.

There are three options for certification:
1. FSC for forests
2. FSC for the product chain (CoC = Chain of Custody)
3. FSC for projects

The Institute for Sustainability supports the implementation of an FSC certification of product chains according to the standards FSC-STD-40-003, FSC-STD-40-004 und FSC-STD-40-005. This includes the introduction of an FSC-CoC management system, the preparation of the FSC manual and the internal audit.

All certified wood products may only bear the FSC seal (100%, Mix, Recycled) if it can be proven throughout the entire product chain that only wood from sustainably managed forests has been processed.